Feb=Black History month quote
12 responses | 0 likes
Started by metmike - Feb. 1, 2021, 1:17 a.m.

“One day our descendants will think it incredible that we paid so much attention to things like the amount of melanin in our skin or the shape of our eyes or our gender instead of the unique identities of each of us as complex human beings.”
—Franklin Thomas, activist, philanthropist, and former president of the Ford Foundation

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_A._Thomas

Comments
By mcfarmer - Feb. 1, 2021, 9:43 a.m.
Like Reply

Yes, that’s a great quote. Passing over the irony of a foundation created in part by Henry  Ford that is devoted to equal rights, I look forward to the day there isn’t a Black History month.

Some may know I taught history many years, we celebrated Black History month mostly in the typical ways, researching famous black persons and events of the past.

One  discussion we had was an attempt to place ourselves in another person’s shoes.  My background is Irish, and there are many similar families around here like mine so I picked on the Irish.

I asked what kind of life the Irish would have today if the majority of our ancestors were brought over as slaves. They were bought and sold for hundreds of years, their children were considered property like cattle, treated as such. Had no rights in society, folks could kill us and the law would look the other way.

Would my great grandfather have been able to homestead a farm in Iowa ? Would my great uncle been a state representative ? Where would I be ? Would I be a farmer ? Would my family have had the money to send me to a good college ?  Would I live in this small community ? Would I  be a teacher ?

I would pick some kids out of the class and ask them what their family would be like. Would they have the farm they live on now ? Would they feel equal to everyone else ? Would everyone treat them as they do now, by totally not thinking of their heritage ?