How the Mighty Have Fallen
6 responses | 0 likes
Started by joj - Nov. 19, 2020, 9:51 p.m.
Comments
By TimNew - Nov. 20, 2020, 2:11 a.m.
Like Reply

Hi JOJ.    I just wanted to make sure you know the Onion is a satire publication. Occasionally,  people take it seriously.

By joj - Nov. 20, 2020, 10:37 a.m.
Like Reply

Tim,

Rudy is saying things in press conferences that he wouldn't dare say in court.  He belongs in the Onion.

By wglassfo - Nov. 20, 2020, 12:25 p.m.
Like Reply

I am not a lawyer and I do not pretend to know the legal system

But a lawyer did suggest the following thought

Dominion can publicly deny allegations about their machines with impunity. They don't have to prove any thing in public

However, if they are serious, about their reputation, and biz model, then Dominion as a business, or any of the officers can bring defamation charges against Powell and the others at the public press conference.

If in court a lawyer may make allegations against a witness, to try and challenge the testimony. However, public statements, out side of court, can be grounds for defamation and law suits can follow to seek some sort of punishment for wrong full statements

If Dominion files a law suit, then the Trump lawyers need to produce the evidence and Trump himself would likely be named as a defendant 

As it stands now, Dominion either files a law suit or their public statements are just bluster with no legal evidence to prove Dominion is correct

By metmike - Nov. 20, 2020, 12:34 p.m.
Like Reply

"no legal evidence to prove Dominion is correct"

Guilty until proven innocent?

Dominion's machines were rigged because they can't prove they were not and accusations that they were rigged with no evidence must be correct and if they don't file lawsuits against those claiming they were rigged must mean they were rigged?

By TimNew - Nov. 20, 2020, 12:43 p.m.
Like Reply

Couple things.

JOJ. Lots of politicians, including Obama have been written up in the Onion.