Won't You Be My Neighbor
9 responses | 0 likes
Started by joj - Nov. 27, 2018, 12:14 a.m.

On Amazon Prime - Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 99 rating.  Very up lifting.

Think.  Just sit and think for one minute in silence.  Think about some person (or persons) who looked after you in your life.  Someone who helped you get to where you are today.  Someone who loved you.

Comments
By metmike - Nov. 27, 2018, 12:36 a.m.
Like Reply

Very nice thought!

By TimNew - Nov. 27, 2018, 3:35 a.m.
Like Reply

Too many to count.  Starting with my mother, some great teachers, a coach or 2 and many others along the way.

But,  for my professional life,  Sam Whitehurst.  I've lost touch over the years and I suspect he has moved on to the next level by now,  but back when I was a struggling entry level programmer, he gave me my first break when so many others chose not to. I spent 2 years working really hard to convince him he'd made the right choice and it went a long way in helping me become pretty good at what I do.

I can only hope, at this end of my career, there are a few who would say the same about me.

By carlberky - Nov. 27, 2018, 7:32 a.m.
Like Reply

"I spent 2 years working really hard to convince him he'd made the right choice".

Tim, think about your memory of him if you had been a total jerk. 

Yes, there are people I am grateful to, and I appreciate the message of this thread. As I reflected on my life I thought about how we are given opportunities in life, some by total strangers and , in my case, some by chance encounters.(There is no such thing as luck !) 

I guess what I'm trying to say is that how we react to those opportunities is what makes us who we are.

By joj - Nov. 27, 2018, 7:38 a.m.
Like Reply

I had thought of my mom, my brother and a professor.  Tim jogged my memory and I now recall a boss who gave me a huge break.  That door he opened made all the difference.  Of course Carl makes a good point as well.

By TimNew - Nov. 27, 2018, 9:22 a.m.
Like Reply