Not my usual posting topic
8 responses | 0 likes
Started by madmechanic - July 20, 2021, 11 p.m.

Hello everyone, I'm back after yet another prolonged absence. Much like my previous periods of inactivity on the forum, I don't really have a good reason or excuse.

I wish I could say I've been busy working on my 280ZX project car, but that project is on pause while the engine is at the machine shop for a complete overhaul.

I can't even blame an overabundance of work flow with my job as I've been doing the work from home thing since March of 2020. I have plenty of ample time/opportunity to stay active around here.

I digress. Normally I pop back up on the forum when I have an interesting 'climate change' related topic that I want to throw at Mike. Mike's knowledge on the subject is what originally got me to join in the conversations here. The level of respect that all of you show is what I admire the most about this forum above all others I have ever been a member of.

I normally wouldn't make a post about a topic as sensitive as personal health, but something is compelling me to do so this time. I tend to avoid situations wherein others might be inclined to feel sympathy towards me as the thought alone makes me uncomfortable.

So here is the situation. If I haven't mentioned it before, I have Crohn's disease. I was diagnosed when I was 10 years old and I just turned 32 on July 6. In 22 years I've had 7 colonoscopies, tried various medications (with varying levels of success) and, compared to many Crohn's patients, had an overall decent life so far. I'm lucky in that I haven't had any surgeries related to Crohn's where some patients have had entire sections of large and small bowel removed.

It was recently discovered that I have developed 2 abscesses and a fistula because of active Crohn's disease. While there is nothing about these abscesses that points to any serious complications, they are things that need to be dealt with sooner rather than later.